Can the club afford 'cheap games'?

All things unofficial about AFC Rushden & Diamonds and general football talk.
Diamond Warrior

Can the club afford 'cheap games'?

Post by Diamond Warrior »

As you may know, I am now at Huddersfield University.

On Saturday, as a student, my price to watch Huddersfield Town v Bristol Rovers in League 1 will be £2. Next Tuesday, the JPT game against Peterborough is going to cost me 'a massive' £5.

As well as earlier in the season I went to Fratton Park to watch Portsmouth v Crystal Palace in the Carling Cup, again for £2.

I know we've said about slipping attendances at Nene Park, but for me to be paying this little to watch Championship and League 1 teams something really needs to be done with 'our' prices at Nene Park.

For a season ticket for Huddersfield Giants(Rugby League) next season.. (13 Home Fixtures)
Adults - £95
Concession - £75
'Young Adult' - £50
12-16 - £40
Under 12s - FREE

This doesn't take much to work out, I (Young Adult) will be paying less than £3.90 a game to watch a top division Sports Fixture, for a 'top 4' team in the country as well..
CountHermanDeBanker

Re: Can the club afford 'cheap games'?

Post by CountHermanDeBanker »

Pigman, over to you sir. What's your view on all this :?: ;) :lol:
“Outside of a dog, a book is man's best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read.” ― Groucho Marx
BartonRaz
Has Liked: 5 times
Been Liked: 144 times

Post by BartonRaz »

I remember reading somewhere recently that Schalke fans staged a protest against the club for having to pay over 13.50 to watch a game. Unheard of in Germany.

I aint being funny, but something is very wrong over here.
They say we've lost our money we're not famous anymore.....

AFC Rushden & Diamonds - Member No: 291
Formic
Has Liked: 11 times
Been Liked: 19 times

Post by Formic »

Surely the obvious question is "how do those clubs make money out of those offers" ?

Every club is different - examples might be :