Gash

All things unofficial about AFC Rushden & Diamonds and general football talk.
alex_RDFC

Gash

Post by alex_RDFC »

I dont post very often and I try to hold any controversial opinions to myself as I am fully aware this forum can just turn into bickering. But it seriously frustrates me how people slate Gash consistently.

I like to think I know a bit about football playing to a decent standard and I'm a qualified coach but I do admit that I can't get to many games at the moment.

Now when ever I've seen him play he has excelled in the air winning flicks and putting defenders under pressure in the air. The short coming is not his ability to win the first ball, its the complete lack of people around him to pick up on the second ball. O'connor and who ever has partnered him (P C-H hopefully for a long time as ive played with him at diamonds before he left) Hug the touch line in a 4-3-3.

To make him a valuable weapon we need to get players in and around him and gambling on him winning the ball. If the other 2 took a chance and went in behind, with their pace and a bit of luck, can pick up on the loose balls and create chances.

Even if he doesnt win it he occupied at least 1 centre half creating space in the centre for the likes of Porter and Power to exploit and makes it a lot more difficult for Centre backs to clear the ball easily meaning we can restart attacks and maintain pressure.

No hes not a goal scorer, but I certainly feel he is a valuable player and creates chances. His short coming is that he is getting isolated and needs people in and around him to pick up off what he creates.

Rant over (prepares to have argument pulled apart ;) )
HiHoRushden&Diamonds

Re: Gash

Post by HiHoRushden&Diamonds »

Could not agree more!

I sense a 4-4-2/4-3-3 debate brewing!
mac

Post by mac »

I agree he is good in the air ,mobile and has a good touch
BartonRaz
Has Liked: 5 times
Been Liked: 144 times

Post by BartonRaz »